Saturday, 11 February 2012

CD Review: Pump, by Aerosmith (1989)

Building on the momentum of Permanent Vacation, Aerosmith accelerate their career resurrection with Pump, a high-energy collection of fun metal.

Pump maintains a pleasing consistency, Aerosmith sticking to what works, tweaking the formula here and there but not straying too far from fast tempo, light-hearted songs about love and lust delivered with plenty of verve. Steven Tyler forcefully spits out the lyrics while breathlessly running down the street after a bevy of beauties, only to be chased back the other way by their boyfriends. Joe Perry contributes the usual assortment of simple but effective riffs, while Joey Kramer on the drums and Tom Hamilton's bass are pleasantly more pronounced than usual.

Consistent with the title, there is plenty of repetition on Pump, most tracks consisting of a limited number of ideas looped to just short of the tiresome threshold. Young Lust, Love In An Elevator and My Girl are examples of good inspiration hampered by truncated development. But the band do pull it all together for the excellent The Other Side, horn section to the fore, forcefully pushing Kramer's drum set into a smooth groove that Tyler surfs to perfection.

The one misfire on the album is Voodoo Medicine Man, Aerosmith briefly experimenting down an unmarked secondary trail and getting lost in dangerous tribal territory.

Fuelled by sly and sexy videos, particularly for Love In An Elevator, Pump became one of Aerosmith's all-time best selling albums, moving more than seven million copies. Not bad for a band that just four years earlier was destroyed by drugs, commercially in the wilderness and heading for the metal scrapheap.


Brad Whitford - Guitars
Tom Hamilton - Bass
Steven Tyler - Vocals
Joey Kramer - Drums
Joe Perry - Guitars

Songlist (ratings out of 10):

1. Young Lust - 8
2. F.I.N.E. - 8
3. Love In An Elevator - 9
4. Monkey On My Back - 7
5. Janie's Got A Gun - 8
6. The Other Side - 10
7. My Girl - 8
8. Don't Get Mad, Get Even - 7
9. Voodoo Medicine Man - 6
10. What It Takes - 8

Average: 7.90

Produced by Bruce Fairbairn.
Engineered and Mixed by Mike Fraser. Mastered by Greg Fulginiti.

All Ace Black Blog Heavy Metal CD Reviews are here.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...