Thursday, 5 January 2012

CD Review: G N' R Lies, by Guns N' Roses (1988)

This is what money for nothing sounds like. With Appetite For Destruction taking the world by storm, record label Geffen rush out the 8-song album G N' R Lies that delivers...nothing.

The first four tracks are muddy live recordings of nondescript selections, previously released on the Live ?!*@ Like A Suicide EP before the band found fame, and two of them dispensable covers. The last four tracks are acoustic, hastily recorded in a matter of days, including another version of You're Crazy, already featured on Appetite For Destruction, and Used To Love Her, a composition that the band admitted (on the cover) was a joke.

And it all ends with One In A Million, a song with lyrics that manage to offend everyone and impress no one. Almost slipping unnoticed in the controversy over homophobia and racism was how catastrophically horrible the music and the singing are on One In A Million, regardless of the words.

On the live tracks Guns N' Roses sound like amateurs but they are not helped by an atrocious quality recording. The acoustic tracks are simply boring, the danger stripped out of the band as Axl Rose insists on skewing the ending of every other word with an overdeployment of his trademark and mostly unnecessary yayeeyay.

G N' R Lies is an excellent example of how record companies milked customers in the pre-digital age. There is little on the album to justify a single dollar being invested in the music, and yet Geffen laughed all the way to the bank.


Slash - Guitars
Izzy Stradlin' Guitars
Duff McKagan - Bass
Steven Adler - Drums
Axl Rose - Vocals

Songlist (ratings out of 10):

1. Reckless Life - 7
2. Nice Boys - 7
3. Move To The City - 7
4. Mama Kin - 7
5. Patience - 7
6. Used To Love Her - 5
7. You're Crazy - 7
8. One In A Million - 4

Average: 6.38

Produced and Engineered by Mike Clink.

All Ace Black Blog Heavy Metal CD Reviews are here.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...