Sunday, 22 May 2011

CD Review: Restless And Wild, by Accept (1982)

Restless And Wild boasts one of the all-time classic heavy metal album openings: the cheerfully blissful Hei-di Hei-do Hei-da scratches on ancient vinyl before Udo Dirkschneider interrupts by unleashing a hair-raising banshee scream and the band explodes into Fast As A Shark. It's a memorably comic moment, and Accept back it up with a solid collection of Teutonic power metal tracks.

Fast As A Shark is true to its name, guitar sparks flying thanks to Hermann Frank and Wolf Hoffman breaking off the shackles and just shredding. Title track Restless And Wild follows, all thundering drums courtesy of Stefan Kaufmann finding his medieval self to carry the load of a frenzied Udo.

Neon Nights opens with beefy bass work from Peter Baltes then dramatically drops the pace to a more thoughtful slow beat that strongly evokes Saxon's The Eagle Has Landed. Closer Princess Of The Dawn turns its focus to sustaining a threatening vibe, breaking into soulful guitar and a plucky little eastern-tinged theme that could invade either dreams or nightmares.

Despite containing some weak moments such as Ahead Of The Pack and Demon's Night, Restless And Wild is overall a tight and controlled package, Accept at their peak basking in the glory of 1980s metal.


Hermann Frank Jr. - Guitar
Stefan Kaufmann - Drums
Udo Dirkschneider - Vocals
Wolf Hoffman - Guitar
Peter Baltes - Bass

Songlist (ratings out of 10):

1. Fast As A Shark - 10
2. Restless And Wild - 10
3. Ahead Of The Pack - 6
4. Shake Your Heads - 7
5. Neon Nights - 8
6. Get Ready - 7
7. Demon's Night - 6
8. Flash Rockin' Man - 7
9. Don't Go Stealing My Soul Away - 7
10. Princess Of The Dawn - 9

Average: 7.70

Produced by Accept.
Recorded and Mixed by Michael Wagener.

All Ace Black Blog Heavy Metal CD Reviews are here.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...