Saturday, 18 December 2010

CD Review: The Thin Line Between, by Neuraxis (2008)

Loud, fast, and brutal, Neuraxis are fully immersed into the core elements of technical death metal.  Any hints of melody, harmony, and thoughtful or engaging song structures are immediately discarded like so much smelly fish.

The Thin Line Between drones on with the power of a massive waterfall, the single-tone of the music and Alex Leblanc's never changing guttural growl effectively obliterating any distinction between one track and the next.

The fifth album from the Canadian quintet does demonstrate energy and ability, but it is channeled into the most inaccessible of musical directions.

Nice album cover art, though.


Tommy Mckinnon - Drums
Yan Thiel - Bass
Alex Leblanc - Vocals
Rob Milley - Guitar
William Seghers - Guitar

Songlist (ratings out of 10):

1. Darkness Prevails - 6
2. Wicked - 5
3. Versus - 7
4. Deviation Occurs - 5
5. The Thin Line Between - 5
6. Dreaming The End - 6
7. Standing Despite... - n./a (short instrumental)
8. Oracle - 6
9. Phoenix - 6
10. The All And The Nothing - 6

Average: 5.78

Produced by Jef Fortin and Neuraxis.
Engineered and Mixed by Jef Fortin.
Mastered by Alan Douches.

All Ace Black Blog Heavy Metal CD Reviews are here.

No comments:

Post a comment

Please share your thoughts about this post! Thank you!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...