Saturday, 30 October 2010

CD Review: 2112, by Rush (1976)

An album with a well deserved reputation as a ground-breaking achievement, 2112 was a big formative branch in the history of progressive metal. That its reputation, in retrospect, far exceeds its actual content is to be expected: this was 1976, and Canada's Rush, on their third studio album, were breaking new creative ground that now seems routine.

The title track, a 20 minute timeless fairy tale about the struggle of the creative spirit against a totalitarian regime, can only ever be patchy in terms of quality, but is a landmark in the history of storytelling metal. Divided into seven chapters, some are much more engaging than others. The Overture and the second segment, titled The Temples Of Syrinx, are the most accessible and popular components of the elaborate structure.

2112 occupied all of Side A of the original release. The five tracks on Side B set the stage for the rest of Rush's career. Relatively short, concise prog metal tracks with Geddy Lee yelping his high-pitched vocals, Alex Lifeson serviceable rather than outstanding on guitar, and Neal Peart's lyrics always concerned with weighty and worldly matters rather than the typical themes of sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll.

Thanks mainly to the length of the title track, 2112 is a trip and requires a specific mental mood to be fully enjoyed; it is more a foundation stone of its genre than an easily accessible example.


Geddy Lee - Bass, Vocals
Alex Lifeson - Guitar
Neal Peart - Drums


1. 2112 (in seven parts) - 8
2. A Passage To Bangkok - 8
3. The Twilight Zone - 7
4. Lessons - 7
5. Tears - 7
6. Something For Nothing - 8

Average: 7.50

Produced by Rush and Terry Brown.

All Ace Black Blog Heavy Metal CD Reviews are here.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Readers are welcome to comment on Ace Black Blog posts. Any comments that insult the intelligence will be deleted.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...