Sunday, 6 July 2008

CD Review: Ember To Inferno, by Trivium (2003)

This is the debut CD from Florida's Trivium, and one of the most impressive heavy metal debut CDs of the modern era. Out of the box, Trivium's sound is mature and polished, with sophisticated songwriting and engaging melodies. Often combining controlled speed with mid-tempo sections on the same song, Trivium's sound is made complete with vocals from Matt Heafy that are both screamed and sung. The result is a collection of tunes that is both engaging and aggressive.

Heafy, who plays the lead and rhythm guitar, was all of 17 years old when this CD was originally recorded, which makes it all the more impressive. Travis Smith's pounding drums and Brent Young's creative bass lines complete the talent. All three demonstrate terrific control of their instruments. Young was unfortunately no longer with the band when they started to become famous.

Ember to Inferno starts and ends with short instrumentals, and Ashes is another one in the middle. The title track is a mesmerizing heavy metal classic that combines pure power with a memorable hook, and it is preceded by three strong tracks: If I Could Collapse The Masses, Fugue, and Requiem. The second half of the CD is only slightly less consistent, with When All Light Dies another stand-out track.

The 2005 re-release included three previously unreleased bonus tracks. Both Blinding Tears Will Break The Skies and The Deceived successfully complement the original songlist by delivering the same potent mix of controlled speed, power and melody. Demon is taken from Trivium's original self-titled demo disc, and it strongly evokes Slayer. The fact that this is the only song on this debut CD that reminds the listener of another band speaks volumes about Trivium's achievement on Ember to Inferno.

Band (Recording Line-Up):

Matt Heafy - Guitars, Vocals
Travis Smith - Drums
Brent Young - Bass

Songlist (Ratings out of 10):

1. Inception The Bleeding Skies - no rating (short instrumental)
2. Pillars Of Serpents - 7
3. If I Could Collapse The Masses - 9
4. Fugue (A Revelation) - 9
5. Requiem - 9
6. Ember To Inferno - 10 *See Video Below*
7. Ashes - no rating (short instrumental)
8. To Burn The Eye - 6
9. Falling To Grey - 8
10. My Hatred - 8
11. When All Light Dies - 10
12. A View Of Burning Empires - no rating (short instrumental)

Bonus Tracks:

13. Blinding Tears Will Break The Skies - 9
14. The Deceived - 10
15. Demon - 7

Average: 8.50

Produced and Mixed by Jason Suecof, Travis Smith and Brent Young
Engineered by Jason Suecof
Mastered by Tom Morris

All Ace Black Blog CD Reviews are here.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...